Board Members and Staff

Bermuda Health Council

Members of the Bermuda Health Council are appointed by the Minister of Health for a term specified by their instrument of appointment. The Council consists of between nine (9) and eleven (11) ordinary members and four (4) ex-officio members (Chief Executive Officer of the Health Council, Chief Medical Officer, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Health, and the Financial Secretary of the Ministry of Finance). Ultimately, it is the duty of Health Council members to determine the direction of the affairs of the organization. Specifically,

  • Carry out the legislative mandate as per the Bermuda Health Council Act 2004
  • Determine the policy direction of the Health Council
  • Ensure effective organizational strategic planning
  • Monitor and evaluate the strategic plan
  • Enhance the public image of the organization

Our Council Members

Mrs Simone Barton – Chair
Mrs Kirsten Beasley – Deputy Chair
Mr Richard Ambrosio
Ms Alena Crockwell
Dr. Edgar Griffith
Mrs Lorraine Lipschutz
Dr Darrien Ray
Dr Fiona Ross
Mr Andrew Simons
Miss Alexis Swan
Mrs Venetta Symonds

Ex-Officio Members
Jennifer Attride-Stirling, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Health and Seniors
Anthony Manders, Financial Secretary
Dr. Cheryl Peek-Ball, Chief Medical Officer
Tawanna Wedderburn, Chief Executive Officer, Bermuda Health Council

Bermuda Health Council Staff Listing

Ricky Brathwaite
Programme Director, Health Economics

Ian Cameron
Policy Analyst, Compliance

Tiara Carlington
Policy Analyst, Data and Research

Lena Hassell
Executive Assistant


Jessica Steede
Communications and Media Relations Project Officer

Tawanna Wedderburn
Chief Executive Officer